VOTE: May 2018 Council Elections

The next scheduled Local Council elections in Calderdale will be held on 3rd May 2018. We have some useful information that might help your engagement with this election. As ever, the most important thing to remember is to use your vote!

What do local councils do?

Councils are responsible for providing local services and facilities. Your elected representatives or councillors represent you at a local level – this is known as local government. Depending on where you live, your council is responsible for all or some of the following areas:

  • Council housing
  • Education services
  • Electoral registration
  • Environmental health
  • Leisure and recreation facilities
  • Libraries
  • Local planning
  • Local transport
  • Parks and public places
  • Regulation of local business
  • Roads and footpaths
  • Social services
  • Waste and recycling

How do I meet my local councillors?

Ward Forum meetings, held four times a year, should always have at least one local councillor in attendance. If you have a concern or issue you would like Calderdale Council to take to the meeting on your behalf, the Ward Forum team will be happy to helpEmail or call: 01422 392317

What about this May’s Elections

You may also find your local councillors and their rival candidates either visiting you or leafleting your home trying to win your vote. This is a great time to raise issues that concern you. Remember what the councillors are responsible for (see list above), and don’t be afraid to raise local issues that really bother you.

Topics you might discuss and feel strongly about include older people’s services, the reduction in services in general, libraries and other long established services that might be threatened.

Don’t Forget to Vote

Most importantly of all, don’t forget to vote – it’s a cliche, but your vote really does count and these are the elections where your personal concerns are best heard.

The Candidates

Brighouse: Howard Granville Blagborough (Conservative); Jennie Rigg (Liberal Democrats); Kate Sweeny (Green); Oliver George Willows (Labour).

Calder: Sarah Courtney (Labour); Richard Hugh Marshall (Conservative); Donal Antony Martin O’Hanlon (Liberal Democrats); Jenny Shepherd (Green).

Elland: David Collins (Conservative); Barry Edward Crossland (Green); Angie Gallagher (Labour); Michael Wallace Whiting (Liberal Democrats).

Greetland and Stainland: Mike Barnes (Labour); Marilyn Greenwood (Liberal Democrats); Mark Richard Mullany (Green); Oliver Darryl Williams (Conservative).

Hipperholme and Lightcliffe: Steven Cliberon (Labour); Martin John Hey (Green); Alisdair Calder McGregor (Liberal Democrats); James Pillai (Conservative); Colin Raistrick (Independent).

Illingworth and Mixenden: Guy Beech (Conservative); Sean Loftus (Independent); Alexander Parsons-Hulse (Liberal Democrats); Angela Christine Street (Green); Dan Sutherland (Labour).

Luddenden Foot: Catherine Jane Crosland (Liberal Democrats); Scott Anthony Patient (Labour); Michael John Prior (Green); Jill Smith-Moorhouse (Conservative).

Northowram and Shelf: Stephen Baines (Conservative); Jon Grinham (Liberal Democrats); Elaine Hey (Green); Daniel Richard Manning (The Yorkshire Party); Helen Sutcliffe (Labour).

Ovenden: Katherine Louise Horner (Green); John Reynolds (Liberal Democrats); Helen Josephine Rivron (Labour); Gill Tolley (Conservative).

Park: Amjad Mahmood Bashir (Conservative); Surraya Bibi (Independent); Finn Mygind Jensen (Green); Mohammed Naeem (Labour).

Rastrick: Regan Gerhard Dickenson (Conservative); Kathy Haigh-Hutchinson (Liberal Democrats); Peter Judge (Labour and Co-operative); Angharad Lois Turner (Green).

Ryburn: Robert Holden (Independent); Steven Leigh (Conservative); Rosemary Tatchell (Liberal Democrats); David William Veitch (Labour and Co-operative); Katie Witham (Green).

Skircoat: Sean Bamforth (Liberal Democrats); Colin Hugh Hutchinson (Labour); Anne Marie Nelson (Green); Andrew James Tagg (Conservative).

Sowerby Bridge: Jeff Featherstone (Conservative); Dot Foster (Labour); John Richard Ward Nesbitt (Green); Tom Stringfellow (Liberal Democrats).

Todmorden: Janet Mary Battye (Liberal Democrats); Jacob Nathaniel Cook (Conservative); Chris Jackson (National Front); Susan Mary Press (Labour); Kieran Luke Turner (Green).

Town: Mark Llewellyn Edwards (Conservative); Alan Patrick McDonald (Green); Bob Metcalfe (Labour); Benjamin George Simmons (Liberal Democrats).

Warley: Frank James Holt (Green); Amanda Parsons-Hulse (Liberal Democrats); Shakir Saghir (Conservative); Audrey Smith (Labour).